If you enjoy(ed) Aversionline, please check out No Echo, a new music site I co-run. Updated daily.

Siege "Drop Dead" CD

Posted on Thursday, November 9th, 2006 @ 9:34am » permalink

Siege - Drop DeadAhhh, Siege. This is yet another (official, of course) re-release of the entire recorded output from this scorching Massachusetts outfit, this time on Deranged Records. Included is the band's demo as well the "Cleanse the Bacteria" compilation tracks, all of which were recorded in 1984, totaling just 9 songs in a mere 17 minutes. And don't let that running time fool you, pretty much all of these tracks are less than a minute or two: It's the seven-and-a-half-minute onslaught of chaotic, mangled noise in "Grim Reaper" that beefs up the length. Other than that it's nothing but short, fast, furiously raging hardcore/punk with quick, frantic leads and totally unhinged vocals. Great, great shit – not to mention completely classic, as these cats played a huge role in influencing the birth of grindcore… even despite their short-lived status and scarcity of recorded output. More than two decades later and this shit's still gold, too…

Siege "Drop Dead"

As always, pick it up if you're into the track and missed out on these guys the first few times around. It says "pre-order" on the label's webstore, but that's just leftover from earlier in the year. The CD's out and shipping now:

@ Deranged Records


  1. Anonymous says:

    I've been wanting to hear Siege for a while, but have not been able top afford the record. Thanks for posting this. MORE FAST STUFF

  2. Anonymous says:

    yeah great stuff! i want to read more reviews of grindcore too Andrew! ;)

  3. Anonymous says:

    great stuff indeed. you gonna review the new converge?

  4. Ooh yeah, must get this! Thanks for reminding me.

  5. Fergus says:

    I love this old school pre-grind stuff. You know, Siege, Larm, Repulsion, DRI (to a lesser degree). Totally classic.

  6. Anonymous says:


  7. mark p. says:

    This was also reissued on LP by Deep Six earlier this year with two unreleased tracks (don't appear on ANY of the 8 million previous reissues or bootlegs) that I don't think are on this CD..

  8. Rebel without a Cause says:

    check also D.S. 13 I think they are not so fast but they are quite insane…

Thoughts? Please do say something: